BAFTA-winning writer Abi Morgan and acclaimed Lord of the Rings actor John Rhys Davies revealed as recipients

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) in Wales, BAFTA Cymru, has revealed the Special Award recipients for this year’s British Academy Cymru Awards, taking place on 8 October 2017.

BAFTA-winning writer Abi Morgan (The Iron Lady, Shame) will become the 13th recipient of the Siân Phillips Award. Morgan, who was born in Cardiff, is being honoured with the award – sponsored by Pinewood – as a Welsh person who has made a significant contribution to international television production and feature filmmaking.

BAFTA-winning writer Abi Morgan (Copyright Guru Encounters)


The Siân Phillips Award, selected by the BAFTA Cymru Committee, has previously been awarded to make-up artist Siân Grigg, director Euros Lyn, actor Rhys Ifans, writer Russel T Davies, actor Michael Sheen, actor Ioan Gruffudd, writer/actress/producer Ruth Jones, actor Rob Brydon, actor Matthew Rhys, actor Robert Pugh, producer Julie Gardner and journalist Jeremy Bowen.

The BAFTA Cymru Special Award for Outstanding Contribution to Film and Television, sponsored by SONY Technology, will be presented to acclaimed actor and producer John Rhys Davies. Known to many as Gimli in Lord of the Rings, or as Indiana Jones’ comic sidekick, Sallah in two of Lucas Films’ Indiana Jones adventure films, John has appeared in over 150 television shows and films since the early ’70s.

John Rhys Davies

Hannah Raybould, Director of BAFTA Cymru, said: “The BAFTA Cymru Committee recognises Abi Morgan’s talents and her huge contribution to such an array of films and television programmes, including The Iron Lady with Meryl Streep as Margaret Thatcher and Shame, co-written with Steve McQueen. Her work on The Iron Lady earned her a BAFTA nomination for Best Original Screenplay, while her work on Shame earned her a BAFTA nomination for Outstanding British Film. She has recently written The Invisible Woman for BBC Films, directed by and starring Ralph Fiennes, and Suffragette for Film4. In 2013 she won an Emmy for the 1950s newsroom drama, The Hour. We are also very much looking forward to celebrating the extensive career and ongoing contribution of Emmy-nominated actor John Rhys Davies during the ceremony with a look back at his work from 1964 to the present day.”

Members of the public are invited to join nominees and special guests at this year’s awards.

A limited number of tickets are still available for the Champagne reception, ceremony and after party at the new venue – the Radisson Blu – priced at £95, which includes a limited-edition Awards brochure.

Details of the nominees and guests attending the ceremony will be announced during the week of the Awards, to be held on 8 October.

The ceremony will be live streamed to BAFTA Cymru’s Facebook (Click HERE) once again this year, with a special event being held by New York Welsh at the Sunken Hundred Welsh bar in Brooklyn, attended by Matthew Rhys and others guests. For the first time this year, BAFTA will also be live-streaming from the red carpet where viewers will be able to hear from guests as they arrive.

Post-production and facilities company Gorilla returns as Key Event Sponsor and returning sponsors and partners have been confirmed as Mad Dog Casting, Buzz Magazine, Cuebox, Deloitte, Ethos, Hotel Chocolat, Champagne Taittinger, Working Word, ELP, Ken Picton, Princes Gate, Villa Maria, AB Acoustics, Capital Law, Genero, Trosol, S4C, Aberystwyth University, Cardiff and Vale College, Cardiff Council, BBC Cymru Wales, University of South Wales, Audi, Sugar Creative, Pinewood Studios Group and the University of Wales Trinity Saint David.

New sponsors for 2017 are Cardiff BID, Channel 4, Clarins, Curzon, DRESD, Iceland, Lexon Printing Group, Media Access Solutions and Tiny Rebel.

Tickets can be purchased from the St David’s Hall Box Office 029 20 878444 www.stdavidshallcardiff.co.uk







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.