BAFTA Cymru – Attendees confirmed!!

3 October 2017: The British Academy of Film and Television Arts in Wales, BAFTA Cymru, has today revealed the names of some of the nominees, presenters and other special guest attendees for this Sunday’s British Academy Cymru Awards, which is taking place at the St David’s Hall in Cardiff, Wales on 8 October.

Stars of the big and small screen are set to attend the 26th BAFTA Cymru ceremony, which honours excellence in performance and production within film, games and television in Wales, and will be joined by a host of famous faces.

DJ and presenter Huw Stephens returns to host the ceremony for a third time, at which the stars of Welsh-made television dramas Doctor Who, Casualty, Hinterland, Gwaith Cartref, Byw Celwydd and new Bad Wolf production for Sky A Discovery of Witches will attend.

Those expected to grace the red carpet include, but are not limited to actors Peter Capaldi (Doctor Who), Tom Cullen (Downton Abbey), Vicky McClure (The Replacement, Line of Duty, This is England), Richard Mylan (Waterloo Road, Byw Celwydd), Steffan Rhodri (Wonder Woman, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows) and Lloyd Everitt (Casualty).

Others include Alexandra Roach (The Iron Lady, Utopia, No Offence), Owen Teale (Game of Thrones), Scott Arthur (Borg/McEnroe, Victoria) and Teresa Palmer (Hacksaw Ridge, Berlin Syndrome, The Choice).

Guests will be treated to live performances by star of Eurovision and X-Factor Lucie Jones and Welsh singer-songwriter Betsy.

Presenters and other attendees confirmed to date include Ian ‘H’ Watkins from Steps and actress/singer Emma Wolford of Eden.

Nominees attending include Jonny Owen (Don’t Take me Home), alongside Football Associate of Wales Jonathan Ford; writers Owen Sheers (Aberfan the Green Hollow) and Fflur Dafydd; (The Library Suicides), Sherlock’s Arwel Wyn Jones (Production Design) and 3-times nominated Claire Pritchard-Jones (Make Up and Hair). Also attending are nominees from the world of music including James Dean Bradfield, Karl Jenkins and Caryl Parry Jones.

Actor nominees attending are Dyfan Dwyfor (Library Suicides), Jack Parry-Jones (Moon Dogs) and Mark Lewis Jones (The Lighthouse). Actress nominees attending are Carys Eleri (Parch); Kimberley Nixon (Ordinary Lies), Mali Jones (35 Diwrnod) and Eiry Thomas (Aberfan The Green Hollow)

The ceremony will be streamed live on the BAFTA Cymru Facebook Page and is made possible by the event’s sponsors Gorilla Post Production.

Those unable to attend and watch arrivals will also be able to watch coverage from the red carpet from 6:30pm, presented by Elin Fflur.

26 programme, craft and performance categories feature in the annual British Academy Cymru Awards, honouring excellence in broadcasting and production within film and television in Wales during the period 1 April 2016 and 31 March 2017.

Members of the public are invited to join nominees and industry professionals at this year’s awards. Awards tickets are available for the Champagne reception, ceremony and after party at the newly-refurbished Radisson Blu Hotel priced at £95, which include a limited-edition Awards brochure.

Tickets can be purchased from the St David’s Hall Box Office 029 20 878444 /



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.